JAY-Z, Tina Turner and LL Cool J are Scheduled to be Inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame

On Wednesday, it was officially announced that Jay-ZTina Turner, and LL Cool J will be inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

JAY-Z’s induction is impressive since it is the first year he became eligible for a nomination.

“This diverse class of talented inductees reflects the Hall’s ongoing commitment to honor artists whose music created the sound of youth culture,” John Sykes, chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, said in an official statement on Wednesday. “It will make for an unforgettable live celebration of music in October at this year’s Induction Ceremony in Cleveland.”

Tina Turner will join JAY-Z in the performer’s category. This is Turner’s second induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. The first time she was inducted was during the year of 1991 for being a part of the duo “Ike and Tina Turner” with her ex-husband. She will now be inducted as a solo artist.

LL Cool J has been nominated multiple times but was unable to be in the final round of inductees. Now, he will join three artists whom are also receiving the Musical Excellence award.

KraftwerkCharley Patton, and Gil Scott-Heron will be honored with the Early Influence Award. Clarence Avant has been selected for the Ahmet Ertegun Award. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: